Derry Township has a population of 24,679 and was established in 1729. It became part of Dauphin County in 1785. Derry Township is a Second-Class Township governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors elected at-large for six-year terms. The Board of Supervisors serves as the primary governing body, responsible for ensuring fiscal responsibility and maintaining a safe, healthy community for the residents. Their duties include legislating, setting policies, imposing taxes, approving expenditures, and managing the township’s operations.

Municipal services provided by the township include public safety, public works, parks and recreation, community development, administration, a recycling center, and library services. Fire protection is handled by the Hershey Volunteer Fire Company, while the Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center offers emergency medical services.

Click below to view our Derry Township New Resident brochure.