TOWNSHIP OF DERRY ADVISORY BOARDS AND COMMITTEES

Planning Commission (4 year term)

The Planning Commission, consisting of five members, acts as an advisory committee to the Board of Supervisors in matters of land planning, subdivision, and land development.

Zoning Hearing Board (5 year term) The Zoning Hearing Boards five members render decisions on cases of appeals, variances, and special exceptions that arise from the administration of the Zoning Ordinance.

Board of Library Directors (3 year term) The Board of Library Directors consists of seven Derry Township residents, two of which are members of the Board of Supervisors. This board is responsible for setting policies and operating the Derry Township Public Library.

Parks and Recreation Advisory Board (5 year term)

The Parks and Recreation Advisory Board consists of seven Derry Township residents, two of which are appointees of the Derry Township School Board and one which is a member of the Board of Supervisors. This board has the authority to equip, operate, supervise, adopt rules and regulations for facility use, and maintain parks, recreation areas, and facilities.

Municipal Authority (5 year term)

The Derry Township Municipal Authority consists of seven members and is authorized to acquire, hold, construct, improve, maintain, operate, own and lease, either in the capacity of lessor or lessee, sewers, sewer systems, interceptor lines, sewage treatment works, works for the treatment and disposal of industrial waste, and stormwater systems.

Downtown Core Design Board (5 year terms)

The eight member Design Review Board reviews proposals, and issues Certificates of Appropriateness and permits for signs and materials changes to buildings within the Chocolate Avenue Preservation Overlay District. Resident members must own a business in the Chocolate Avenue Preservation Overlay District.

Uniform Construction Code Appeals Board (5 year term)

The U.C.C. Appeals Board renders decisions on appeals for provisions to the Uniform Construction Code, state-wide building codes.

Tax Collection Association (2 & 3 year terms)

The Tax Collection Association consists of seven members, which include members from the School District and the Township. The Association makes decisions regarding the collection of local taxes and operations of the tax office.

Industrial Commercial Development

Authority (2, 3, 4, & 5 year terms)
The ICDA consists of five members and is authorized to exercise powers and undertake any projects permitted by the Economic Development Financing Law, Act No. 102 or any other Pennsylvania legislation, subject to approval by the Board of Supervisors.

General Authority (2, 3, 4, & 5 year terms)

The General Authority consists of five members and is authorized to approve any plan regarding business improvements or the providing of administrative services, or any other activity authorized by the Municipality Authorities Act or other Pennsylvania legislation, subject to the approval of the Board of Supervisors.

The Board of Supervisors makes appointments at the Reorganization meeting held in January each year. Residents that are interested in serving on a board are requested to submit a resume and cover letter to the Township by the third week in December.